Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Roscosmos reports successful launch of Satmex-8 aboard Proton-M rocket

The Russian federal space agency, Roscosmos, announced the successful launch of the Proton-M rocket carrying the Satmex-8 C-/Ku-band communications satellite on Tuesday, March 26, 2013.

Roscosmos posted a live webcast of the launch, which took place at the Baikonur Cosmodrome on 23:06 Moscow time (1906 GMT.) According to the Russian space agency, Satmex-8 should part ways with the Briz-M booster at 8:19 Moscow time (0419 GMT) on Wednesday, March 26, 2013.

Space System/Loral built the Satmex-8 satellite for Satélites Mexicanos. The satellite carries a payload of 24 C- and 40 Ku-band transponders. It will deliver satellite broadband, video, and audio services to the Americas.

The Tuesday launch is the first successful activity this 2013 for the Proton-M series of rockets. Back in December 2012, the Briz-M booster of a similar carrier vehicle suffered a malfunction and failed to boost its payload, the Russian Yamal-402 communications satellite, into designated orbit.

No comments:

Post a Comment